Which pharmacy makes your compounded GLP-1? Only 2 of 13 name it

Most GLP-1 telehealth programs won't name the pharmacy that makes your compounded drug. We checked all 13. Only two name it.

By John Samaras, EditorAug 24, 20264 min read

Of the 11 GLP-1 telehealth programs we track, only one will name the pharmacy that makes its compounded drug. Most of the rest hide behind "a licensed compounding pharmacy." That matters. When a compounding pharmacy gets a recall or an FDA warning, the fallout lands on you, not the brand you bought from, and you can't check a pharmacy nobody named.

Every pharmacy name below is sourced to the program's own materials. Where a program won't say, we mark it "Not disclosed."

Who makes your compounded GLP-1

ProgramCompounding pharmacyTypeHow we know
SesameMedivant compounds, Foothills ships503BSesame's own clinician help doc
FoundNot disclosed503ASays it uses 503A pharmacies, names none
LemonaidNot disclosed503BA 23andMe press release says 503B, names none
Henry MedsNot disclosedNot stated"Licensed compounding pharmacies in the US"
ShedNot disclosedNot stated"Made by a licensed pharmacy"
StrutNot disclosedNot statedNo pharmacy named anywhere on its site
MedviNot disclosedNot statedNamed at intake only, never on the site
IvimNot disclosedNot stated"On request" only, never on the site
HoneNot disclosedNot stated"Network of trusted pharmacies"
Noom MedNot disclosedNot stated"Designated partner pharmacies"
9amHealthBranded, not compoundedN/APrescribes FDA-approved GLP-1s to a retail pharmacy

One names a pharmacy. Nine sell compounded and won't say which. One does not compound at all.

Why the pharmacy behind your drug matters

Compounded semaglutide is not made by Novo Nordisk. A compounding pharmacy makes it against a prescription, and that pharmacy keeps a public record. Inspection reports and state board files sit under the pharmacy's name, not the telehealth brand's. That is why the name is the thing to ask for. With it you can read the record in ten minutes. Without it there is nothing to look up.

What 503A and 503B mean

A 503A pharmacy compounds one prescription for one patient. A 503B outsourcing facility makes larger batches and registers with the FDA, which inspects it on a schedule. Neither product is FDA-approved, but a 503B carries more routine oversight. Found says it uses 503A pharmacies. A 23andMe press release said Lemonaid's semaglutide comes from a 503B. Sesame's help doc names Medivant, a registered 503B. Most programs won't even tell you which category applies to your dose.

What to do before you buy

Ask the program to name the compounding pharmacy in writing. A program that will tell you is one you can check. Search that pharmacy on the FDA's databases and your state board of pharmacy for recalls or discipline. If a program won't name it at all, treat that as its own answer.

Compare all-in prices and lock-in terms across every program on our chart, or start with the compounded GLP-1 guide.

Two cash programs to check.

No insurance needed.

  1. Strut Health$149 a month, with auto-refillcompounded semaglutideCheck price →You pick Weight Loss, then a five-minute online visit
  2. Shed$199 a month30% off first month with code Shed10compounded semaglutideCheck price →A health form first, then you choose your plan
Why you can trust GLP Chart. Same scoring framework applied to every program. No paid placements. We never remove unfavorable information at an advertiser's request. Pricing is pulled from each program's public-facing page every Monday.