By the GLP Chart editors. How we check. How we make money. Some visit links earn us a commission.

Reports checked November 4, 2026

Which employers are dropping GLP-1 coverage for 2027?

PepsiCo and Starbucks (October 2026), Cigna for its own staff (July 2026) and the Massachusetts state workers' plan (July 2026) have stopped covering GLP-1s for weight loss, and North Carolina's state plan has not brought it back. Business Group on Health says 14% of employers have dropped or will drop it by 2027.

Losing coverage? Two cash programs to check.

No insurance needed.

  1. Collective$59 a month, drug pricecompounded semaglutide
    Check price →
  2. SnagRx$69 a month, 12-month plan for $828compounded semaglutide
    Check price →SnagRx's homepage shows its 12-month prepaid prices first

Named employers and plans

Employer or planWhat changedWhenStill coveredReported by
PepsiCoEnded plan coverage of prescription weight-loss drugsOctober 2026Diabetes useBloomberg via Claims Journal; ABC News, Aug 26, 2026
StarbucksStopped covering GLP-1s prescribed for weight loss for benefits-eligible staffOctober 2026Not statedSHRM, Sep 1, 2026
Cigna (its own employees)Stopped covering GLP-1s for weight loss in its employee planJuly 1, 2026Not statedReuters; ABC News, Jun 11, 2026
Massachusetts state workers (GIC)Voted 10 to 7 to stop covering GLP-1s strictly for weight managementJuly 2026 plan yearDiabetes useGBH News, Feb 26, 2026
North Carolina State Health PlanEnded weight-loss coverage earlier; restoring it is not expected in this budgetStill off (May 2026 report)Diabetes useWRAL, May 27, 2026

We list an employer only when a news report names it. Most surveys do not name companies, so the real list is longer.

What the surveys say

  • Business Group on Health: 14% of employers have dropped or plan to drop GLP-1 weight-loss coverage by 2027, up from 10%. Coverage fell from 72% in 2025 to 60% in 2026. (source, Sep 1, 2026)
  • WTW: 53% of employers with 100 or more staff cover GLP-1s for weight loss, down from 57% in 2025. 16% cover them but are considering removing them, up from 9%. (source, Oct 27, 2026)
  • Mercer: About 6% of large employers dropped weight-loss drug coverage in 2026, and another 5% plan to drop it in 2027. (source, Aug 26, 2026)
  • Gallagher (an estimate, not a survey): 20% to 30% of the firm's clients dropped GLP-1 coverage for 2027, by the estimate of Gallagher's Seth Friedman. (source, Oct 27, 2026)

How to check your own plan for 2027

  1. Open your 2027 benefits guide or open enrollment site and find the prescription drug list.
  2. Search it for Wegovy, Zepbound and "weight management".
  3. If it is gone, ask the plan whether another covered condition applies to you.
  4. If the plan says no, a prior authorization letter and an appeal letter are free to try.

Open enrollment dates and plan types are on open enrollment 2027, and insurer-by-insurer rules are on does my insurance cover Wegovy or Zepbound.

What it costs without coverage

Collective's drug price is $59 a month for compounded semaglutide or $69 for compounded tirzepatide; compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. The makers' own cash prices for the brands are on GLP-1 without insurance, and every program is on the GLP Chart price chart. If you have an HSA or FSA, see using an HSA or FSA for GLP-1s.

Employer GLP-1 coverage FAQ

Is my employer dropping Wegovy or Zepbound in 2027?

Read your 2027 open enrollment guide or your plan's 2027 drug list (formulary). Look for Wegovy, Zepbound and the Wegovy pill, and for words such as "weight management" or "anti-obesity" in the exclusions. If it is unclear, ask HR or the number on your insurance card.

Will Ozempic or Mounjaro still be covered for diabetes?

In the cuts named on this page, diabetes use stayed covered where the report says (PepsiCo, Massachusetts, North Carolina). Each plan sets its own rules.

What can I do if my plan drops it?

Three routes: ask whether another condition your plan still covers applies to you; appeal with a prior authorization letter; or pay cash. The cash programs at the top of this page print their prices.

Is Cigna dropping all GLP-1 coverage?

The news reports read here say Cigna stopped covering GLP-1s for weight loss in its own employee health plan from July 1, 2026 (Reuters, June 11, 2026; ABC News, August 29, 2026). They do not say Cigna dropped coverage for every plan it runs for other employers. Your own plan's 2027 drug list is the answer for you.

How many employers are dropping GLP-1 coverage?

Business Group on Health found 14% of employers have dropped or plan to drop GLP-1 weight-loss coverage by 2027 (SHRM, September 1, 2026). WTW found 53% of employers with 100 or more staff cover it, down from 57%.

Every report above was read November 4, 2026. How we check.

This page reports published news and surveys. It is not legal, tax or medical advice. GLP Chart is not a medical provider.